PinchingPennies

Saving money to pay off student loans and consumer debt

Line Drying – How Much Does It Save?

A friend was over the other day and she noticed I put daughter’s clothes outside to dry instead of throwing them in the dryer. She asked why and I told her that when it was so hot, I refuse to let all that free energy go to waste. Besides, using the dryer during the day only heats up the house and it is better for the environment.

But how much money do I save?

This website has an energy usage calculator with common household appliances pre-programmed. If I line dried everything, I could save up to $40 a month according to that calculator.

August 18, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I don’t know how you’re getting the $40 a month from my calculator. My page on clothes dryers ( http://michaelbluejay.com/electricity/dryers.html )shows a typical savings of $0.39 a load, which would mean you’d have to do over 100 loads a month to save that much.

    Comment by michaelbluejay | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. $40 probably is a little high for me right now. I do live in a state where electricity is a little more expensive and I do have a toddler (and cloth diapers at night) so some of my loads take a little longer to dry in the dryer. My estimates were for my state and 2 hours of drying a day which would have been accurate about 6 months ago when I had to wash sheets (and a towel) every day due to a stubborn toddler that would take off her diaper every night.

    My friend that has 3 kids, 1 husband and 1 great-grandmother in her house does a min of 3 loads a day which could easily be 2 drying hours.

    More than you ever wanted to know about my laundry I’m sure. lol

    Comment by bloggingawaydebt | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oh, and cool site!

    Comment by bloggingawaydebt | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. I live in an apartment and it costs $1.00 to dry a load so I save $8 a month since I do two loads every weekend.

    Comment by lulugal11 | August 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

