PinchingPennies

Saving money to pay off student loans and consumer debt

New Laptop

This post is brought to you by a new laptop, the Acer Aspire 5315-2713, running Ubuntu (Hardy).

I had been saving for a new laptop when I was driving down the highway and I saw a sign advertising laptops for $379. Immediately after getting home I researched whether I could get Linux running on this model and the only documented problems are with the sound and wireless. There were workarounds though so I ran out and bought it. Woo hoo!

For the record, the sound issue was resolved in Hardy and the wireless worked without too much pain thanks to these directions. Thank you UbuntuGeek!

ETA: The directions I linked to are a little outdated. When you open the gzip/tar file you see just a README that points to a newer version. I followed the same instructions, just with a newer version of the file.

August 22, 2008 - Posted by | Splurges | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

