PinchingPennies

Saving money to pay off student loans and consumer debt

Irony at My Door

Not long after I hit publish announcing that I was laid off, a man showed up at my door. He was obviously sweaty and he started in on his sob story. He told me that his van broke down and he needed $46 to get the bus back home. He wasn’t asking for a handout, but instead was asking to mow my lawn and wash my car for some cash. I just kind of smiled at him and told him that if he had asked yesterday I would have said yes but I was laid off this morning. We looked at each other for a few seconds before he laughed at his bad timing and left. We have a bunch of nice neighbors so I am sure he won’t have a hard time finding a couple jobs.

September 21, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. How strange. I don’t answer my door…expecially not for sweaty men.

    Comment by Daizy | September 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

