PinchingPennies

Saving money to pay off student loans and consumer debt

Working Hard or Hardly Working?

Gee, that is a toss up. Tomorrow is my last day at work and I almost have everything wrapped up. I put together a kick ass resume and sent it out to all my contacts. I joined LinkedIn, Monster and Dice.com hoping something would pan out there.

For those that don’t know, I was laid off a week ago as of the end of the month. It was a surprise to my boss as well as to me and I don’t really wanna go. The status quo was nice. I am good at my job and the benes were great. *sigh*

On the financial front, due to a quirk in my employment status, I cannot receive unemployment. I have have about 2 months in savings at our previous spending rate. We have cut out everything non-essential and I have a couple good leads on jobs. If nothing else, I’ll go to Starbucks until I can find something more lucrative.

My debt snowballing will have to stop until I have found employment. I have reduced automatic payments to the minimum for the time being. Tomorrow I have to call about 1 student loan but it looks like I have paid almost $9000 in debt since January. *woo hoo*

In related news, the stock market fell 777 points today after the House of Representatives rejected the bailout bill.

September 29, 2008 - Posted by | Debt, Debt Snowball, Fixed Expenses | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

